back to diary directory

November 19, 2023

6:09pm

No entry yesterday?! I went to a protest.

I haven't been to one in a long time so it was interesting to go to one, especially one in a major city like Chicago. I think it was really interesting, exhilerating, and anxiety inducing are a couple words I would use for it. Overall, I think it was really impactful to be in a place with so much energy for a cause I care about. I got to see first hand the police being asshats and it was shocking, but of course, not surprising. I couldn't believe I was at the front of this. Getting out was a challenge, and I remember at one point looking back and realizing I couldn't, at that moment, get out, because the police had blocked off the area both behind and in front of me. It was strange.
I have slept so hard these past two days since it. I understand why my friend S is so tired all the time and has different priorities. I feel like I need to do something like this again, and I def want my own sign next time.
I have been so anxious lately and I don't know why. I think I know why, I Think I'm nervous to spend so much time around my partner's family without pause. I know I can leave if things get bad, but I don't want to cause drama and I want to see a lot of members of her family who are cool to me. I can't wait to meet some of them officially since we've begun talking online. I hope no one is a bigoted asshole.
I'm kind of really sick of being so tired, tbh. I don't know why I keep taking these naps that feel like I'm dying and can't force myself up at all. I'm like damn shawty. I have a friend coming over soon and I'd love nothing more than to nap right nowwwwww.